missing cheese

I love cheese and miss it. There’s nothing quite as lovely as a slice of blue cheese on crackers. I’ve made my choice to go vegan and must endure the consequences.

On a positive note, I’ve found fabulous products that fulfill those cravings that linger. (I’m told that they will fade over time but they’re still there, haunting me when I stroll past the artisan cheese booths at the farmer’s market.)

A replacement for smoked cheese that I’ve enjoyed in the past is smoked tofu. It’s ultra firm and slices like cheese. The smokey flavour doesn’t neglect the interior of the block, as mos ttofu  marinades do. Soyganic Smoked Tofu from Sunrise.

I’m not a tofu lover yet. It’s good… but not amazing. I won’t usually snitch pieces of it while I’m cooking but this is snitchable!!

This entry was published on November 30, 2012 at 10:37 am. It’s filed under Vegan products and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

